Bluesin’ on the Green.

Blues on the Green, Austin summer activities

One of my favorite summertime activities in Austin is KGSR’s Blues on the Green, a bi-weekly music event that brings local talent to Zilker Park for Austinites to enjoy. There’s really nothing better than walking down to the park, laying out a blanket, and drinking a beer while listening to new, interesting music with friends. In the miserable Texas summer, Blues on the Green provides a great way to spend some much needed time outside without feeling like your clothes have been soaking in a warm shower (did I mention the show was in the evenings?). It’s a fun time to be had by all. The best part of Blues on the Green? It’s free!

The event has become one of Austin’s largest free concert series, and is consistently ranked as one of the top events of the summer (I agree). Each year, I pick out one or two different nights that I want to go, and head over to Zilker Park for an evening of easy-going music listening and laying in the grass with friends. Blues on the Green is a great event for families, but tends to get a little crowded which can make  it difficult to find people that you didn’t arrive with or bring dogs (or at least my dog…plenty of people are accompanied by their furry friends).

Blues on the Green, Austin summer activities

My friends from L to R: Wiley Cyrus (the pup), Oren, Jack, Marni, me, and Brandon

Early in the summer, Brandon and I met some friends (see above for my personal advice on this situation) at Blues on the Green to hear Black Joe Lewis & The Honeybears. Prior to the show, I had never heard of the band before, and wasn’t proactive enough to listen to their music ahead of time, so I had no idea what I was getting myself into here. They turned out to be a pretty decent band – blues and soul, with a little electric jazz thrown in the mix. The music wasn’t necessarily something that I would listen to on the regular, but it was a nice change of pace from my typical country tunes, and made for great background music for my friends and I to catch up.

The below is one of the songs from their new album, Electric Slave, set to release August 27th:

Unfortunately, Blues on the Green is almost over for the year. There are only two more shows in 2013 – tonight’s show featuring The Gourds and Shakey Graves, and the August 7th show featuring White Denim with My Jerusalem and The Preservation. If you’ve never experienced Blues on the Green before (or even if you have), I definitely recommend planning to make it out to one of the last two nights before it disappears until next year. I’ll be at tonight’s show, and I’m actually really excited – I first heard about Shakey Graves from Austin Eavesdropper, another Austin blogger I love, and I’ve listened to his music a time or two, but have never seen him perform live. Hope to see y’all there!

In know most Austinites are veterans of Blues on the Green, so I’m hoping you’ll tell me about the best Blues on the Green show you’ve ever been to in the comments below.

p.s. – sorry about the picture quality here. For some reason my camera was working against me that night.

Tell me your thoughts

