Austin’s Best Burgers: Hopdoddy Burger Bar

There are very few restaurants with food so good that you’re willing to wait in line 30-45 minutes (maybe even a hour) to eat it. In fact, here in Austin I can think of only two – Franklin Barbecue and Hopdoddy Burger Bar. I’m a little sad to say that I’ve never actually eaten at Franklin before, though it’s on my list. Hopdoddy, on the other hand, is a completely different story. I’ve eaten there more times that I can count, and the amount of time I’ve spent waiting in line at that place is absurd. But guys, the burgers are so worth the wait. I’m not even kidding. I’ve never met a burger at Hopdoddy that I didn’t like, which is why it’s landed a spot on Austin’s Best Burgers.

Hopdoddy’s menu is small, but incredibly varied. No two burgers even come close to resembling each other. They are geniuses when it comes to crafting out-of-the-box burgers, and experimenting with different meats and toppings. At Hopdoddy you can get anything from regular old (but still delicious) angus beef burgers, to lamb burgers, turkey burgers, and even tuna burgers. I’d venture to say that I’ve tried almost every burger on Hopdoddy’s regular menu (they also create monthly burgers, of which I’ve only tried a few), and I’ve carefully developed a list of my top three favorites – number one on that list being the Ahi Tuna Burger. As my favorite, it would seem appropriate that I review the tuna burger for this post, but I’ve had my eye on one particular burger and seeing as how this is a special occasion (RE: National Burger Month…duh), it seemed only appropriate to go that route. So I did.

Ladies and gentleman, I introduce you to…drumroll please…the Primetime Burger.

Hopdoddy Burgers Austin

The Seven Layer Dip Burger (left), The Primetime Burger (center), and a heaping pile of hand cut fries.

Let me break it down for you. The Primetime Burger is made with Texas Akaushi Beef, brie cheese, truffle aioli, arugula, caramelized onions and steak sauce. And yes, it tastes just as good as it sounds. Actually, it tastes even better than it sounds. I’ve been eyeing this burger ever since it first appeared as one of the monthly specials, but at $12, it was a little pricey for my college- and then entry level PR-budget, so I kept convincing myself that I didn’t need to order it when there were so many other delicious (and cheaper) burgers to choose from. But you know what? I did need to order it. I had no idea what I was missing out on until I tried that Primetime Burger for the first time. The melted brie cheese alone was enough to win me over – I could eat an entire wheel of brie if that was socially acceptable. But there was even more to love. The saltiness of the arugula combined with the sweetness of the caramelized onion was damn near perfection atop that melt-in-your mouth Akaushi beef patty. I think it’s safe to say that I enjoyed every last bite of that burger. And I’m not ashamed to admit that I was using my fingers to salvage every topping and crumb that fell off the burger…yes, that happened.

You’ll also notice a second burger in that picture above – that was Brandon’s burger, The Seven Layer Dip Burger (Hopdoddy’s May special). I can’t remember exactly what was on that, but it was basically a typical 7-layer dip piled onto a hamburger. There were refried beans and gauc and cheese and sour cream and lettuce and tomato and more! It was amazing – Brandon said it was his favorite burger at Hopdoddy thus far. Clearly we both had burger wins this go around, which makes for a very positive blog post, but in all honesty, I don’t think you can actually pick a bad burger at this place. If you disagree, feel free to tell me why and I’ll tell you why you’re wrong 🙂

So if you’ve never been to Hopdoddy, hop to it. They’ve got two locations – the original on South Congress and a new north location off Burnet and Anderson Ln. When you go, plan to be there for awhile because unless you’re going right when the place opens, there will be a line. But I promise you, it’s so worth the wait. And they have a great wait staff that will bring you drinks while you stand in line, so the waiting game isn’t as bad as it seems.

If after reading about Hopdoddy, you’re craving more burgers, be sure to check out my earlier reviews on Gordough’s Public House and Your Mom’s Burger Bar.

And remember, on the last Thursday in May, I’ll be reviewing a burger joint chosen by my readers. If you haven’t submitted your favorite place to grab a burger in Austin, be sure to do so by putting the name in the form below:

4 thoughts on “Austin’s Best Burgers: Hopdoddy Burger Bar

  1. Pingback: Austin’s Best Burgers: Whataburger | For The Love Of...

  2. Pingback: Austin’s Best Burgers: Alamo Drafthouse | For The Love Of...

Tell me your thoughts

