Austin Restaurant Week 2013 at Paggi House.

If you’re anything like me, you have a long list of restaurants that you are dying to try, but have yet to cross any off because your budget doesn’t quite agree with your expensive food taste.  To that unfortunate situation I say, thank god for Austin Restaurant Week. Now in its fifth year, this culinary godsend occurs for two weeks in the spring, and two weeks in the fall each year, and is an event that many Austinites look forward to – me included. For more on the event, and the purpose behind it, take a look at this post I wrote last year.

Austin Restaurant Week 2013 Paggi House

This is the second year that Brandon and I have participated in Austin Restaurant Week. We had such a wonderful experience last year, that we jumped at the chance to do it again this year. After looking through an extensive selection of participating restaurant menus (all of which looked absolutely delicious), we settled on Paggi House. I’ve been to Paggi House a time or two before for drinks, but have never eaten there, so I was especially excited to share my first Paggi House dining experience with Brandon. The restaurant is known for its patio seating and indoor/outdoor back porch – obviously we went straight for the back porch, because I’m a sucker for porches.

The porch was a great idea. It was completely enclosed, so we weren’t subject to the noise of rush hour traffic on S. Lamar, but we were still able to feel the nice breeze that accompanies a Texas spring evening. Plus the old school music that was playing on the back porch made for some laughs when there was a lull in conversation (which, if we’re being honest, was very rarely since Brandon and I will both talk your ear off if given the opportunity).

Once again, the food served during Austin Restaurant Week didn’t let me down. This year, Brandon and I both had completely different menu selections, but they were both really delicious – the chefs at Paggi House really know their stuff. The only thing I could have done without was the Caramel Corn dessert – an ice cream dessert that tasted like creamed corn’s frozen sister. It was certainly an interesting culinary experience, but one that I would likely not try again if given the choice. Take a look at the images below to see what kind of food Brandon and I were able to try at Paggi House.

Unfortunately, the two spring weeks of Austin Restaurant Week have already passed for 2013, but the event will return again this fall. But for those of you who have yet to get your fill of great food in the Austin area, you’re in luck. This year, Austin Restaurant Week served as a fabulous introduction for another upcoming foodie paradise – The Austin Food & Wine Festival. Set to take place next weekend (April 26-28), The Austin Food & Wine Festival will be featuring some impressive talent, including Andrew Zimmern, Marcus Samuelsson and Susan Feniger, as well as local Austin favorites like Paul Qui, Tim Love and Shawn Cirkiel just to name a few. Unfortunately, The Austin Wine & Food Festival is a bit out of my price range, but I heard nothing but positive reviews last year, so if you can afford it, I definitely encourage you to buy tickets (if for no other reason than to get the opportunity to be wined & dined by some of the greats in food).

Now speaking of food…I think it’s time I found some myself. All this talk of delicious grub is making me hungry.

Tell me your thoughts

