Let’s Go Fly A Kite.

We couldn’t have asked for better weather in Austin this weekend. The sun was shining, the sky was blue, the temperatures were perfect (warm but not too warm, with some calm winds creating a nice breeze). It was really ideal for yesterday’s Kite Festival. Held on the first Sunday of March every year, the Kite Festival is one of the longest running kite festivals in the United States (it’s been running since 1936). There’s tons of great activities at the Kite Festival, including kite-making booths, kite flying tournaments and lots and lots of kite flying.

Ever since I heard about the Kite Festival during my sophomore year of college, I’ve been wanting to go, but for one reason or another I just haven’t ever been able to make it. Until this year. After 4 years of wishing, I was determined to go to the Kite Festival this year. So my roommate Lili, her boyfriend and myself headed down to the festival yesterday with a blanket and some treats, excited to enjoy the weather in a great way. And let me tell you, it was so much fun. Just try to imagine thousands of people all hanging out in the park, flying kites. It was quite a scene. There were kites of all shapes, sizes and colors. And if you can’t imagine it, just take a look below (yes, that is a giant puffer fish kite):

Zilker Kite Festival Austin

Zilker Kite Festival Austin

Despite my best efforts, I learned that I am absolutely incapable of flying a kite. I’d like to blame it on the subpar kite that I was attempting to fly (they were being handed out for free), but I don’t think that excuse will fly (haha, get it?) seeing as how dozens of other festival-goers managed to get the same kite high in the air. Maybe next year, I’ll get a bit fancy and buy a nicer kite that can help show off my hopefully improved kite flying abilities…

All in all, it was a great afternoon, and I’m so glad that I was finally able to get to the Kite Festival. I look forward to many more kite-flying years.

Zilker Kite Festival Austin

Me and Lili enjoying the sun and doing a little kite watching.

4 thoughts on “Let’s Go Fly A Kite.

  1. I totally blame it on the subpar kite too. Those ABC kites had nothing on the penguin kites and Transformers kites and pirate kites.

    I missed the pufferfish kite! So sad I didn’t see that one! Next year, let’s go together!

  2. Yay! I love finding fellow Austin bloggers. Your’s is so cute! Sadly, I missed the Kite Fest this year. It was such a perfect day for it. Looks like you had a grand ol’ time. 🙂

    • Hey Mandy – great to meet you! Your blog seems great too, and I love your writing style! Looking forward to following it and getting to know you better. Glad you found me!

Tell me your thoughts

