This Post Went To The Dogs (And Cat).

I don’t know how I went almost an entire day before I found out that today is “Love Your Pet Day”. I mean, seriously? For me, every day is Love Your Pet Day – I’m like one of those crazy cat ladies, but with my dog. I treat him as if he were my own child. I even whip out my phone anytime someone asks about him so I can show them the latest photo I took (they will tell you that every picture looks the same, but trust me when I say they are all very different). I’m so crazy about my pets that I’m seriously considering buying every single one of these 8 High Tech Pet Accessories). Anyway, I digress. In honor of today, I thought I’d do a very special post to honor my favorite four-legged friends.

You’ve all been introduced to Maverick before (here and here). As I said, he’s basically my child. He’s also my cuddle buddy at night. And my exercise buddy. I’d take him everywhere with me if I could. He’s quite possibly one of the sweetest dogs you’ll ever meet – Brandon and I have been thinking about getting him a name tag that reads “I’m Maverick. If you can read this, I will lick your face” because that’s true – he will lick your face forever, but we haven’t found a tag that will fit such a long phrase just yet. If only he was more well behaved, I’d consider giving him the title “World’s Best Dog”…

Love Your Pet Day

While Maverick does live with me, he’s not the only pet I love. There’s also Lance, my family pet of seven years. Lance was an unexpected surprise during my Junior year of high school when my brother went to the animal shelter one day “just to look”. I came home from a concert, and there was puppy Lance, all lovable and adorable playing with a squeaky ball. Because Lance was adopted, we’re not quite sure what breed of dog he is, but we know he’s some kind of collie mix. He’s a little goofy-looking -one big ball of black fur and teeth on only one side of his mouth (we still don’t know why) – but he’s got a face (and a personality) that will just melt your heart. I don’t get to see him as much as I would like, but I still love him just as much as Maverick and get unnecessarily excited every time I head home for a visit.

Love Your Pet Day

And dare I say it…there’s one more. Scout is the newest addition to our little family. I know those of you who know me are probably gasping right now in horror thinking, “But Rachael, she’s a…cat. You hate cats.” ‘Tis true, I’m a dog lover through and through – always have been and always will be. Cats have never been in my plan, but Scout kind of happened upon Brandon and I when some friends couldn’t keep her anymore, and Brandon couldn’t bear the thought of her going to the pound. So now she lives with Brandon. Scout and I still getting to know each other, and I still shy away (ok, squeal and jump away) every time she reveals her tiny, yet ferocious claws, but I’ll admit – she’s growing on me. I may become a cat lover yet (but my dogs will always be number 1 and 2 – sorry Scout).

Love Your Pet Day

So there you have it, a day full of love for the little creatures I love. What about you? Do you have any pets – share the love below. Seriously, there’s no better day than today!

3 thoughts on “This Post Went To The Dogs (And Cat).

  1. I have a little 9.5 lb chihuahua named Dee Dee. She was given to me when my grandma passed away. DeeDee has given my family and I so much joy! She sleeps by my side at night and loves to cuddle! Wish she were nicer to strangers. I always say that she has stranger danger.:)

Tell me your thoughts

