A Handwritten Note.

Let’s talk stationary for a little bit.  I know, some of you are thinking, “how boring; it’s just paper”. But seriously, it’s not just paper.  Stationary has always symbolized something so thoughtful to me. You know someone cares if they take the time to write a letter, pay for a stamp and place it in the mailbox. Opening the mailbox and finding something other than bills is like Christmas for me – and you just don’t get that feeling when a text or email ends up in your inbox.

This isn’t a new thing for me either – I’ve always had a thing for handwritten letters.  As a young child I attended camp every summer.  Parents had the option to write letters or send emails, and I always demanded that my parents write handwritten letters to me at least once a week.  For me, the rule was that they would receive one letter from me for every handwritten letter I received from them.  This resulted in large letter collection (many of which I still have today), and an even bigger amount of letter writing, but I didn’t mind one bit. And this love for handwritten letters only grew as I grew.

I’ve since developed a love for stationary, because really, the content within the letter can only be enhanced when written on an amazing piece of paper.  This weekend, I took a field trip to Paper Source, a paperie that allows you to create your own stationary, invitations, etc.  As much as I love everything in the store, it’s a bit expensive, so I typically stop by the store on occasion to absorb some inspiration. But this week, I took the plunge and bought some great stationary.  And you know what? I don’t regret my purchases. Not one single bit.  I bought a set of thank you cards as well as some blank ones – and let me tell you – I CANNOT wait to write some notes to friends and family.

Paper Source stationary

My brand new stationary from Paper Source. Isn’t is great?!

In my stationary obsession, I’ve come across some other great companies that I wanted to share:

Nicely Noted is a stationary subscription service.  For a monthly subscription of $18, Nicely Noted delivers a surprise selection of handwritten cards to your doorstep each month.  I haven’t tried it out yet, only because I can’t even begin to imagine how much time I would spend writing letters to people if the supplies were delivered in a nice little box on my doorstep each month., but I imagine it’s just so much fun.

Another great option is Ladyfingers Letterpress. Owners Morgan Calderini and Arley-Rose Torsone decided to create their own company, after looking for options for their own wedding invitations and finding themselves disappointed.  Ladyfingers Letterpress creates one-of-a-kind, custom wedding invitations. My favorite aspect about their work? It’s hand drawn and done using letterpress!  Obviously, I’m a ways away from contracting their business (since I need a fiancé to order wedding invitations), but you can bet your bottom dollar I’ll be contacting Ladyfingers Letterpress once that day comes.

It’s no surprise that the art of writing letters is a dying one. But I think it should be restored. So I challenge you to try to take a break from your busy life every now and then to sit down to write a letter. I promise, it’s quite enjoyable and the recipient will be just thrilled. Plus, you get to pick out some great stationary to write on!

 

2 thoughts on “A Handwritten Note.

Tell me your thoughts

