I Bought A Car!

As you can tell by the title of this post, I have big news! It’s true: I bought a car.

Those of you who know me know that my former car, a 2002 Ford Explorer, has been less than reliable as of late (aka since early 2011). I tried to convince myself that getting my car repaired every few months was better than paying a monthly bill on a new car.  While that may be the case, getting stranded on the regular is absolutely not better than paying for a new car. So, I made the plunge and bought a car – my first big purchase as an adult.  Meet my ride for the next 6 years (at least):

2012 Kia Sportage

My 2012 Kia Sportage.

Now, I’m not one to make a decision easily, so it came as quite a shock that I bought this car after just a few hours test driving and talking to the dealer, but after all my research and Internet searching, this car really did seem like the best deal for me.  And like my dad told me when I called him freaking out, “Rachael, buying a car is like the easiest decision you’ll make in your entire life. If you don’t like it, you sell it.” Touche dad, for once again calming my nerves, much like you always do.  With that sage advice, I felt (mostly) confident in my decision, and I signed that dotted line.

I’ve had the Sportage for just under a week, and let me tell you, while it’s been an adjustment, I couldn’t be happier in my decision (although I haven’t had to make a car payment yet, so I’ll get back to you on that one). Knowing that I will make it from my apartment to my office without worry of breaking down is satisfaction enough, but the Sportage has already given me so much more.  The Kia Sportage is technically classified as a crossover, meaning that it has elements of a car and an SUV, although I still consider it an SUV (albeit a small one). It’s ride is so smooth for an SUV – I almost get the feeling that I’m driving in a sedan.  The legroom is spectacular – I’ve already had it filled with people and everyone was able to sit comfortably in their seat.  The gas mileage is supposedly excellent for an SUV, although I haven’t had the car long enough to truly know. But, I have to say, that the best part of my new car is the fact that it is Bluetooth* enabled.  Now, I’ve heard of Bluetooth for years and I’ve used it in Wireless technologies, but I’ve never really understood how useful it could be in the car – until now.  Rather than dig through my purse to find my phone, I can simply press a button and just speak. My car will then connect with my phone to call that person. It’s truly amazing.  I find myself calling people on my way home from work just so that I can use the Bluetooth. And now that I don’t ever even have to take my phone out of my purse in the car, I don’t have the temptation to send a text while driving.  Thanks to my Sportage, I might actually achieve my New Year’s goal of not texting in the car anymore. Unbelievable.

As great as the car is, its size will definitely take some getting used to.  I’ve driven a Ford Explorer since I received my driver’s license eight years ago, so making the transition from truck-like SUV to small crossover is a bit of an adjustment.  Although I knew I wanted something smaller than the Explorer, it’s taking some time to feel comfortable being so low to the ground.  I’m sure that once I own the Sportage for a few more weeks, I won’t even notice a difference, it’s just part of making that change. But like I said, as of right now, I really have no complaints with my decision, and I can’t wait to keep driving and fall in love with my new purchase even more.

What was the first big purchase you bought after college? How did you feel?

*As someone who works in PR, I feel that it is my ethical responsibility to say that Bluetooth Special Interest Group is a client of my company. However, that fact has no bearing on my love of my Bluetooth-enabled Sportage. Seriously, I’d love the Bluetooth capabilities regardless.

Tell me your thoughts

