Good Friends and Good Food at Swift’s Attic.

It was early March when I was first introduced to Swift’s Attic (I wrote an article on the restaurant for Austin Lifestyle Magazine, remember?), but it wasn’t until this week that I had the opportunity to try the food.  Despite my love for good food, I tend to steer away from the nicer places for my regular meals as a way to save money.  But this week, several of my coworkers decided to go out for dinner after work and we figured it was time to give Swift’s a try.

INK PR at Swift's Attic

The ladies and myself at Swift’s (forgive the creepy eyes).

The atmosphere was just as I remembered from when I was there prior to the restaurant’s opening, but the crowd of people made Swift’s feel even warmer. Fully embracing the small plates idea, our group decided to order several of the snacks (appetizers) and several plates.  I have to say, it was definitely a good idea – it seemed like every dish was more delicious than the one before it.  Choosing our plates was an especially fun experience because majority of us were unfamiliar with the listed ingredients. In my opinion, this was the ultimate way to try a new restaurant – we were truly trying everything. I can honestly say that they each had something special about them – even the edamame was chargrilled and served with pop rocks – and by choosing a variety of plates, I had the opportunity to try several dishes that I would otherwise never have considered trying (i.e. antelope).  In an attempt to spare you a 1,500 word post about food, I opted to show you all the food in a slideshow, so check that out below to get a little taste of what dishes we had.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When I went to Swift’s back in March to photograph the place, I was introduced to C.K. Chin, one of the restaurant’s owners.  We saw him last night, and even two months later he remembered our brief meeting clearly.  I was so impressed with his hospitality and kindness – he gave our table free desserts and a free round of fruit loop shots.  C.K. did a great job of guiding us through the meal and he made us feel welcome (and VIP) the entire time. It’s so nice to see restaurant owners who take such care in the restaurants they run. I wish I could see this more often.

If you live in the Austin area, I highly recommend you make a night out of Swift’s Attic.  The place is amazing – whether you are going on a date, with a group of friends, or even with your family, Swift’s has something for everyone.  The food will certainly keep your taste buds interested, the drinks are one-of-a-kind and the eclectic, but gorgeous atmosphere will make you feel like you’re dining at the house of an old friend.  It’s only been a day, but I’m already looking forward until then next time I return (although, Swift’s high prices may keep that from happening for awhile).

Have you been to Swift’s Attic yet? What would you recommend to other readers?

Tell me your thoughts

