A Little Love In My Heart and Meat In My Stomach.

So I might be a week late with this post, but better late than never right?  What post you ask? Well, the obligatory, yet always enjoyable Valentine’s Day post.  Like every girlfriend, I would like to take my 15 minutes to gush about how wonderful my boyfriend made our Valentine’s Day.  And so it begins…

I’ve never been super into the Valentine’s Day celebration. Sure, it’s nice to go out to dinner or get some flowers, but it’s not really something I expect. But Brandon loves taking opportunity to celebrate our relationship (and I’m all for that!).  So, Valentine’s Day has always been a part of our relationship.  And it’s always a surprise. Going into work that morning, I had no idea what to expect – would there be chocolates and flowers waiting at my desk?  No.  Well, maybe later that day. Nope, not then either.  By the end of the day, I still hadn’t received anything.  But, I was not to be worried, as I knew that Brandon had some secret up his sleeve.

I went home and got dressed for our mysterious dinner date.  Just as I was finishing up, Brandon came over. Always looking to do something different, he brought me this as a Valentine’s gift:

While I always love flowers, this giraffe was definitely something different.  It made me laugh and is still around a week later (unlike the flowers would have been).  We then set out for our dinner.  There were several restaurants that I’d been mentioning wanting to try, so I was so excited to see what Brandon had planned for the evenin.  After taking some detours to throw me off, we ended up at Estancia Churrascaria, a Brazilian Steakhouse.  For a meat lover like me, he couldn’t have picked a better location.  Waiters, dressed in traditional Brazilian attire, bringing platter after platter of meat to your table – it sounds like heaven.

Estancia Churrascaria

Estancia Churrascaria, the Brazilian Steakhouse.

Unfortunately, we arrived to a chaotic scene.  The restaurant had overbooked and the list of patrons waiting on a table was adding up.  Determined not to let the chaos hinder our evening, we put our names on the list and headed to the bar.  Sticking with the Brazilian theme, I ordered a Caipirinha.  Dubbed Brazil’s national cocktail, the Caipirinha is made with Cachaca (sugar cane rum), sugar and lime.  Now, I’ve tried a few Caipirinhas in my time, but this was far-and-away the most delicious one I had ever tried.  Had the prices not been so outrageous, I would have ordered a second one.

Luckily, my company and my alcohol kept me entertained and our wait flew by.  After sitting at the bar for around thirty minutes (past our reservation), our table was ready.  We sat down to enjoy the goodness. Our meal started off with a trip to the salad bar and the traditional Brazilian side dishes – fried bananas, garlic mashed potatoes, polenta and cheese bread. While this already may sound like a meal in itself, it’s only the beginning.  Each patron is also given a flip card – one side is green (meaning bring on the meat) and the other red (I need a break).  The instant your flip card goes to green, servers rush to your tables with skewers of the most mouth-watering meat – chicken, filet minon, lamb, pork, beef and sausage (over 14 different cuts of meat).  It’s really unbelievable. My card was almost always flipped to the green side.

Meat at Estancia Churrascaria

The meat being delivered and sliced right at our table.

I ate as much as my little stomach could hold.  Despite my desire for more meat, I knew it was time to stop.  There wasn’t even room for dessert, which is very unlike me!  But I left the Estancia with a happy stomach and an even happier heart.  As unnecessary as Valentine’s Day is, it really does feel nice to celebrate your love.

Thanks to a special someone, I had a wonderful night and look forward to many, many more.

Brandon and Rachael in Valentine's Day

Me and my lovely date on Valentine's Day.

One thought on “A Little Love In My Heart and Meat In My Stomach.

  1. Pingback: An Uplifting Commute To Work. « For The Love Of…

Tell me your thoughts

