Run, Baby, Run.

I like to run.  I like the feel of the pavement pounding against my shoes. I like the wind breezing gently past my face.  I like that I can clear my mind of everything, except the simple reminder to “breathe in through my nose and out through my mouth”. I even like the sore legs the next day.  Dare I say, after 8 years of running in different forms and fashions, I think running is fun.  But is it 26.2 miles of fun?

I know running is 6.4 miles of fun:

Capital of Texas Triathlon 2012

Feeling good and having fun at the 2012 CapTex Tri.

And I know that running is even 13.1 miles of fun:

2010 Austin Half Marathon

A happy finish at the 2010 Austin Half Marathon (With my good friend, Andrea).

But I’ve never had the strength, determination, or endurance to figure out if running is 26.2 miles of awesomely good times…until now.  Today, I made the decision to run the Bank of America Chicago Marathon in October – my first ever FULL marathon.  So in a mere 248 days I’ll be able to say with confidence what’s it’s like to pound the pavement for 26.2 grueling miles.  Are you ready? Because I’m sure as hell not…but I will be.

3 thoughts on “Run, Baby, Run.

    • Thanks, Thomas! You are making so much more progress than me though. It’s really inspiring. Whenever you do your half marathon, I’d love to run with you – or at least run one of your many 5Ks!

  1. Pingback: A Place To Lay My Head In The Windy City. | For The Love Of…

Tell me your thoughts

