My New Year’s Word.

A coworker of mine found this great New Year’s idea on a local Austin blog.  The author suggests that rather than coming up with New Year’s resolutions, you create a New Year’s word that is meant to shape the decisions you make throughout that year.  For those who aren’t great at sticking to resolutions (insert thumbs pointing at myself here), this is a great idea because it allows you to be a little more open and it doesn’t necessarily set you up for failure.

Anyway, we decided to implement the New Year’s word at our office.  The only criteria: your word had to be one that would describe your professional life for all of 2012.  After some serious deliberation, I choose the word emerge.  It may sound like a weird word to pick, but to me, it makes perfect sense.  In relative terms, I’m still new to the professional world.  This newness makes me feel very uncomfortable with my decisions, actions and ideas at times.  So in 2012, I vow to try and emerge from my inner shell and really work to make myself shine professionally.  I already foresee this being a challenge, as I work alongside nine other extremely talented PR professionals, making my work atmosphere quite intimidating.  But, I think I’m up to the challenge.

I liked this idea so much, I thought it would be fun to make a word for my personal life too.  While I’ve already decided on my resolutions (and I’m going to try to keep those too), I don’t think it’ll hurt to add one more thing to this list.  For my personal life, I have chosen the word enjoy.  I do so many things I’ll the time that I am constantly go, go, go.  By the time the day is done, I’m usually so tired that I opt out of entertainment because I’d rather go to sleep.  And oftentimes, if I am going out, I’m too busy thinking about everything else I have to do to truly enjoy myself.  But you know what? Life is too short.  I’ve always been the kind of person who wants to make the most out of everything, but as I’ve gotten older, I’ve let that mantra fall by the wayside.  It’s about time to reclaim!  This year, I am truly going to make an effort to be in the moment live my life as it should be and ENJOY.

Friends and coworkers, if you are reading this, I ask that you hold me accountable for my words.  Change is always easier when you have some support, so it’s time to be that shoulder to lean on and word of encouragement!  And if you come up with a word of your own, let me hear it!  Post it in the comments section and I’ll do my best as your friend/coworker/roommate/girlfriend/sister/daughter/whatever to hold you accountable to your New Year’s word too.

2 thoughts on “My New Year’s Word.

  1. Pingback: Austin Weekend Roundup. « For The Love Of…

  2. Pingback: A Happy New Year. | For The Love Of…

Tell me your thoughts

