Looking Back and Moving Forward.

2011. What to say.  The last 365 days have been quite memorable ones – in both good and bad ways. 2011 – the year of Maverick, the year my first triathlon, the year of my college graduation, the year of my first “real” job, and unfortunately the year of the death of my mother.  The year brought on a lot of learning – both about myself and the world – and a lot of exploration.  While I am so thankful for many of the things that happened, I’d be lying if I said that I’m not ready for the year to be over.  I’m actually happy to put this year behind me and really get started in this new life of mine.  I’m ready for new challenges, new lessons and new experiences.

So with only a few hours left in this year, it’s time to get myself thinking about the New Year.  What will I try to achieve? How will I grow?  Like most Americans, I’ve created some resolutions as a path of sorts for getting me started in the direction I’m looking toward.  Every year I decide on some resolutions…and every year I seem to let the resolutions fall by the wayside.  But this year, I’m going to try and do things a little different.  Rather than just create a list of arbitrary goals, I want to have some way to measure my progress (apparently, long term goals don’t work as well for me).  I also want to try and make goals that encompass the three most important aspects of a person – mind, body and soul.  Perhaps, if I try overall improvement in short spurts, I’ll have more success than if I set one single goal way in the future.  I’ve created 4 goals for 2012: one for my mind, one for my body, one for my soul and one for the general safety of my overall self.

  • Mind: Read one new book each month
  • Body: Improve my posture
  • Soul: Run a marathon (running is good for the soul, right?)
  • Safety: Stop texting while driving!

With my new goals in mind and some great company, I’m ready to make my way into a new year.  It’ll sure be interesting to track my progress on the blog – whether good or bad.  As the minutes of 2011 tick away, I’ve spent my time looking back and I’m ready to move forward – so bring it on 2012 – I’m ready!

2012

Ready for the New Year.

HAPPY NEW YEARS!

3 thoughts on “Looking Back and Moving Forward.

  1. Pingback: A Happy New Year. | For The Love Of…

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Let’s Pretend This Never Happened | For The Love Of...

Tell me your thoughts

