My Enchanted Birthday – Part 1.

This past weekend was a whirlwind of fun as I celebrated my 23rd birthday in the Land of Enchantment.  I’ve never travelled for a birthday, but since this was the first one “as an adult”, I thought it would be the perfect time to try something new and this was a great way to ensure that my birthday continued to be special even as I got older.

I’d been considering a trip for some time, but was unsure of the location. The list of potential birthday cities was quite extensive – New Orleans, LA, New York, Las Vegas – but after finding a great Living Social deal on a bed and breakfast, I settled on Albuquerque, New Mexico.  So, with a destination decided, Brandon and I loaded up the truck and set out on the 12 hour drive to Albuquerque.  The trip was LONG, nearly 700 miles, but the great company helped make the time pass by quickly.

Welcome to New Mexico

We finally made it to New Mexico!

Around 3 PM, Brandon and I finally made it to Mauger Estate Bed and Breakfast Inn in the middle of downtown Albuquerque. I’ve never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, but this one was a great first experience.  Tammy, the innkeeper, showed us around the inn and then took us to our room, a decent-sized room filled with simple decor.  The homey feel made me immediately comfortable and had me forgetting that we were at a hotel.

Mauger Estate Bed & Breakfast Inn

The Mauger B&B in Albuquerque

Inside the Mauger Estate Bed & Breakfast

Me and Brandon first arriving at Mauger B&B

Brandon and I were both exhausted from the drive, so we decided to begin our stay with a short nap.  Feeling refreshed after several hours, we went for a relaxed dinner at Duran’s Central Station, a New Mexican-style restaurant recommended to us by a friend.  Not sure what to expect from “New Mexican” food, I was excited to try it.  I got a blue corn chicken enchilada covered in green chiles and Brandon got green chile chicken rellenos.  While I wasn’t blown away by the food (I still think Tex-mex is better), our meals were tasty.  We then went back to the main downtown area and hung out at a new jazz bar called Jazzbah.  The laid back feel was a great way to wind down our tiring first day.  Day 1 was great and left me feeling overly excited for what was to come on my actual birthday.

To be continued…

Tell me your thoughts

