Mindy Kaling Book Review.

I’m not a funny person.  I try, but oftentimes, I fail.  So consequently I like to involve myself with funny people in the hopes that one day, some funny my transfer over to me (I’m still waiting…).

I especially like The Office.

The show has perfected the underhanded, subtle humor that I’m so fond of.  Every episode leaves me wanting more, so when I heard that The Office’s own Mindy Kaling was coming out with her own book, I had to read it.

My roommate bought Mindy Kaling’s book Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? first.  After finishing it in a mere two days, she passed it along to me, singing its praises.  Only pages into the book, I found myself laughing out loud.  At first, it was a quiet little chuckle, but by the end of the second chapter I was laughing in the kind of way that makes your side ache and your eyes water.  I knew at that point that this was going to have to be a book read in the privacy of my own apartment.

Mindy’s ability to retell her childhood and growth in a way that both educates and humors the reader is truly impressive.  Each chapter gives great insight into her life and I love that she was able to balance self-deprecating humor with sage advice that could only come from “some who has been there.” Mindy takes the reader on this great trip as she documents her journey to stardom.  Her personal anecdotes remind the reader that even stars go through what us “average Joes” do.  I was able to see myself in several of Mindy’s stories, a sure sign of good writing.

I finished all 200+ pages in a few shorts days and was a bit upset.  The time it took me to read Mindy’s book just wasn’t enough – I found myself wanting more (plus, I was still hoping some of the humor would rub off on me).  Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? is a book that a would recommend to any friend and will definitely be one that I keep on hand whenever I need a quick laugh.

If you’ve read Mindy Kaling’s book, let me know what you think in the comments section. Have another great recommendation? Throw that in the comments too.

Mindy Kaling's book "Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?"

Mindy Kaling's newest book

Tell me your thoughts

